published Friday, March 8th, 2013

Cleveland/Bradley Chamber honors educators

The Cleveland/Bradley Chamber of Commerce recently honored key teachers in its community.

“Education is one of the cornerstones of a growing and vibrant community,” Sherry Crye, director of workforce development for the Chamber of Commerce, said. “It is also a vital part of all economic and community development initiatives in the Chamber's program of work.”

System-level teachers from Bradley County Schools who were honored included Laura Calfee, Black Fox Elementary School; Barbara Harrison, Oak Grove Elementary School; and Amber Caldwell, Walker Valley High School.

System-level winners from Cleveland City Schools who were saluted included Christy Duncan, Mayfield Elementary School; Dianna Johnson, Cleveland Middle School; and Patty Puckett, Cleveland High School.

Each of the six received a check for $500 from the Cleveland/Bradley Chamber Foundation, a framed certificate, the book “The Heart of a Teacher” and an embroidered expandable briefcase.

Building-level Teachers of the Year for Bradley County Schools were Kay Elder, Black Fox Elementary; Bryan Cofer and Danny Casteel, Bradley Central; Julie Melton and Robin Lawson, Charleston Elementary; Jana Hays and Sarah Burris, Hopewell Elementary; Angela McAmis and Sheryl Rollins, Lake Forest Middle; and Jamie Seymour and Dean Heller, Michigan Avenue Elementary.

Others who represented Bradley County Schools were Robin Delgado and Sandra Donegan, North Lee Elementary; Suzanne Curtis, Oak Grove Elementary; Brian Gallaher, Angie Jordan and Kylie Machachek, Ocoee Middle; Tammy Fields and Buffy Frazier, Park View Elementary; Lori Raper and Christine Geren, Prospect Elementary; Alice Smith and Tara Snider, Taylor Elementary; Bradley Reece and Chrystal Stallings, Valley View Elementary; Donald Benton, Walker Valley High; and Nancy Smith and Marybeth Holloman, Waterville Community.

Kim Strickland was saluted for the Tennessee Christian Preparatory School.

Honored as Cleveland City Schools' building-level Teachers of the Year were Danielle DeBusk, Arnold Elementary; Holly Penix, Blythe-Bower Elementary; Judy Bianucci, E.L. Ross Elementary; Jane Littlejohn, George R. Stuart Elementary; Ronda Phillips, Yates Primary; Jim David and Loes Riggins, Cleveland Middle; Michele McMahan and Jon Souders, Cleveland High; and Blair Deacon, Teen Learning Center.

about Staff Report...

Get breaking news from the Times Free Press on Twitter at or by visiting us on Facebook or Twitter at the right:

Other National Articles

videos »         

photos »         

e-edition »


Find a Business

400 East 11th St., Chattanooga, TN 37403
General Information (423) 756-6900
Copyright, Permissions, Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy, Ethics policy - Copyright ©2014, Chattanooga Publishing Company, Inc. All rights reserved.
This document may not be reprinted without the express written permission of Chattanooga Publishing Company, Inc.