published Saturday, February 12th, 2011

Medical society names leadership

  • photo
    Dr. Collin Cherry, new president of the Chattanooga and Hamilton County Medical Society.

Dr. Collin Cherry has been named 2011 president of the Chattanooga and Hamilton County Medical Society. Cherry succeeds past president Dr. Nita Shumaker.

Dr. John McCarley was named president-elect.

Cherry is an internist at Ridgeside Internal Medicine and chief executive officer of Beacon Health in Chattanooga. He attended the University of Tennessee School of Medicine and will serve as president through January 2012.

McCarley, nephrologist at Nephrology Associates, will become president of the medical society in 2012. He graduated from the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine.

Shumaker, a pediatrician with Galen North Pediatrics, will serve as immediate past president, and Dr. Colleen Schmitt, a gastroenterologist, is secretary-treasurer.

Also joining the 2011 medical society board for first terms are Drs. David Armstrong and Andrew Fowler.

Other members on the board of directors are Drs. Kirk Brody, Jonathan Cohen, Tareck Kadrie, Chris LeSar, Emily Reeves-Douglas, B.W. Ruffner, David Seaberg, Wayne Scott and Christopher Young.

about Staff Report...

Get breaking news from the Times Free Press on Twitter at or by visiting us on Facebook or Twitter at the right:

Comments do not represent the opinions of the Chattanooga Times Free Press, nor does it review every comment. Profanities, slurs and libelous remarks are prohibited. For more information you can view our Terms & Conditions and/or Ethics policy.
please login to post a comment

Other National Articles

videos »         

photos »         

e-edition »

400 East 11th St., Chattanooga, TN 37403
General Information (423) 756-6900
Copyright, Permissions, Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy, Ethics policy - Copyright ©2014, Chattanooga Publishing Company, Inc. All rights reserved.
This document may not be reprinted without the express written permission of Chattanooga Publishing Company, Inc.