published Sunday, January 27th, 2013

UTC to honor Sharon Fanning-Otis

In addition to the six inductees reported this past week, the UTC Athletics Hall of Fame dinner on Feb. 22 at the Chattanooga Golf and Country Club will include four special honors. One of those, the Joe Morrison Award for notable achievement by a former UTC athlete or coach, is going to Sharon Fanning-Otis, who followed a standout Lady Mocs playing and coaching career with a long Southeastern Conference coaching tenure at Kentucky and Mississippi State.

Bob Davis will get the Gordon Davenport Award for outstanding commitment to the Mocs football program, and David and Carol Gibbs will jointly receive the Harold Wilkes Award for furthering the "Vision" of UTC athletics.

Volleyball senior Christina Teter will be presented the A.C. "Scrappy" Moore Award as the 2012-13 student-athlete best exemplifying overall excellence. She's a Red Bank High School graduate from Signal Mountain.

Reservations are required at $30 per person through the alumni office at or 425-4785.

The hall inductees will be Josh Cain, Susan Carson, Neil Connolly, Catherine Neely, Katasha Brown Flatt and Scott Zaccaria.

about Staff Report...

Get breaking news from the Times Free Press on Twitter at or by visiting us on Facebook or Twitter at the right:

Other National Articles

videos »         

photos »         

e-edition »


Find a Business

400 East 11th St., Chattanooga, TN 37403
General Information (423) 756-6900
Copyright, Permissions, Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy, Ethics policy - Copyright ©2014, Chattanooga Publishing Company, Inc. All rights reserved.
This document may not be reprinted without the express written permission of Chattanooga Publishing Company, Inc.