published Tuesday, April 15th, 2014

6 TN sites added to National Register

NASHVILLE, Tenn. — Six Tennessee sites have been added to the National Register of Historic Places.

The Register is the nation's official list of cultural resources worthy of preservation.

The new sites in Tennessee are: the Grand Guitar in Bristol, the Tennessee Supreme Court Building in Nashville, Mead and Ross Marble Quarries in Knox County, the Martin-Dobyns House in Kingsport and the Blountville Historic District.

The Tennessee Historical Commission administers the program in Tennessee.

The district was listed in the Register in 1972. The revised nomination includes clarification of the areas of significance noted in the first nomination.

For more information about the Register or the Tennessee Historical Commission, visit

about Associated Press...

The Associated Press

Other National Articles

videos »         

photos »         

e-edition »


Find a Business

400 East 11th St., Chattanooga, TN 37403
General Information (423) 756-6900
Copyright, Permissions, Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy, Ethics policy - Copyright ©2014, Chattanooga Publishing Company, Inc. All rights reserved.
This document may not be reprinted without the express written permission of Chattanooga Publishing Company, Inc.