published Thursday, August 21st, 2014

Hamilton County has six 'Reward Schools' recognized by state

Ham. County TCAP By School
Ham. County TCAP By School

Hamilton County had six "Reward Schools" recognized by the state for achievement and growth, according to a list released Thursday morning.

The schools are chosen based on their Tennessee Comprehensive Achievement Test scores.

“Because our accountability system recognizes growth and different starting points, we have enormous diversity in our Reward Schools," Education Commissioner Kevin Huffman said in a statement.

That's a reduction from last year, when the Hamilton County Department of Education had 11 Reward Schools.

The Hamilton County public schools that made the list are:

• Allen Elementary School — performance

• Chattanooga Girls Leadership Academy — progress

• Hamilton County Middle College High School at Chattanooga State Community College (now known as Collegiate High) — performance

• Lookout Mountain Elementary School —performance

• Snow Hill Elementary School — progress

• Thrasher Elementary School — performance

Southeast Tennessee schools that made the list were:

• Bledsoe County: Mary V. Wheeler Elementary — progress

• Bradley County: Michigan Avenue Elementary — performance

• Marion County: Jasper Elementary — progress

Read more in tomorrow's Times Free Press.

about Tim Omarzu...

Tim Omarzu covers education for the Times Free Press. Omarzu is a longtime journalist who has worked as a reporter and editor at daily and weekly newspapers in Michigan, Nevada and California.

Other National Articles

videos »         

photos »         

e-edition »


Find a Business

400 East 11th St., Chattanooga, TN 37403
General Information (423) 756-6900
Copyright, Permissions, Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy, Ethics policy - Copyright ©2014, Chattanooga Publishing Company, Inc. All rights reserved.
This document may not be reprinted without the express written permission of Chattanooga Publishing Company, Inc.